How many points do u get for a touchdown in rugby?

Scoring a 'try' (similar to a touchdown in football) in rugby is worth 5 points.

Conversion: Similar to an extra point in football, this kick is taken after a try. Conversions are worth 2 points.
Penalty kick: Similar to a field goal in football. When a penalty is awarded, that team has the option of “kicking for points”. This kick is taken off of a tee, similar to a conversion, and similar to a field goal in football it is worth 3 points.
Drop goal: These kicks are taken in live play. A player drops the ball on the ground and kicks it as it bounces off the ground. It is very difficult and rare. Drop goals are also worth 3 points. Interesting fact: drop goals are still allowed in football for both field goals and extra points but due to the difficulty, this is rarely done. Doug Flutie (NFL football player) attempted one a few years ago on an extra point (he made it).

The objective of rugby is the same as in American Football: to advance the ball into the oppositions end zone, called the try zone. While a player scores a touchdown in American Football when he reaches the end zone, in rugby the player has to touch the ball down in the try zone to be awarded a try.

Blocking is not allowed in rugby.

Rugby is an extremely popular international sport that’s played at a high level all over the world, and is becoming increasingly popular here in the United State. For those of you just starting out and interested in learning how to play rugby, here are 10 tips that will get you out on the pitch in no time at all shared by

Tags: rugbytouchdown 
Friday, August 12 2016

Related questions