Who was the last triple crown winner

American Pharoah is the latest winner of the Triple Crown, and the first in 37 years. 23 horses won the first two legs.

To date, only 12 horses have won horse racing's Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes in the same year. See list below:

  • 1919 - Sir Barton (John Loftus)
  • 1930 - Gallant Fox (Earl Sande)
  • 1935 - Omaha (William Saunders)
  • 1937 - War Admiral (Charley Kurtsinger)
  • 1941 - Whirlaway 9Eddie Arcaro)
  • 1943 - Count Fleet (John Longden)
  • 1946 - Assault (Warren Mehrtens)
  • 1948 - Citation (Eddie Arcaro)
  • 1973 - Secretariat (Ron Turcotte)
  • 1977 - Seattle Slew (Jean Cruguet)
  • 1978 - Affirmed (Steve Cauthen)
  • 2015 - American Pharoah (Victor Espinoza)

American Pharoah defeated second-place Frosted by a comfortable margin, 5 1/2 lengths. Keen Ice was third. Owner Ahmed Zayat, when handed the Triple Crown trophy, said: "I am so thrilled, honored, privileged, humbled, excited."

American Pharoah was the only horse in the race who had run both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness. But he showed early he didn't have tired legs. Get more scoop at [CNN.com]9http://edition.cnn.com/2015/06/06/us/belmont-stakes-american-pharoah/).

Tips! Find out what it takes to be a jockey, shared by HorseshoeCorner.com and see a list of horse betting strategies aimed to assist you on and off the track from RacingPicks.com.